Skip to Content

We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our website.

UoM Faculty Members

Nicoletta Bobola

Chair in Developmental Biology & Genomics

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

Nicoletta.Bobola@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Principles of transcriptional regulation that drives cell fate decisions in embryonic development; Identification of non-coding genetic variants involved in disease

RESEARCH PROFILE:Nicoletta Bobola 

 

Jan Clarkson

Professor Clinical Effectiveness

Joint Co-ordinating Editor of Cochrane Oral HealthTitle

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

janet.clarkson@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS:  Clinical care pathways; guideline development; knowledge transfer; implementation science

RESEARCH PROFILE: Jan Clarkson 

Paul Coulthard

Professor of Maxillofacial Surgery

Head of Division

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

paul.coulthard@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Improvement of surgical practice; postoperative pain; oral implantology; skin closure; Referral for oral surgery; prevention of domestic violence

RESEARCH PROFILE:  Paul Coulthard 

Hugh Devlin

Professor of Restorative Dentistry

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

hugh.devlin@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Machine learning; lasers; bone cell differentiation; diagnosis of caries, periodontal disease and osteoporosis

RESEARCH PROFILE: Hugh Devlin

Mike Dixon

Professor of Genetics

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

mike.dixon@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Identifying the fundamental processes underlying craniofacial development; delineating the role of factors that underlie the human congenital anomaly, cleft palate

RESEARCH PROFILE:
Mike Dixon 

Jill Dixon

Senior Lecturer in Basic Dental Sciences

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

jill.dixon@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Identifying the fundamental processes underlying craniofacial development; delineating the role of factors that underlie the human congenital anomaly, cleft palate

RESEARCH PROFILE: Jill Dixon 

Anne-Marie Glenny

Professor of Health Sciences Research

Lead for Research

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

a.glenny@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Evaluation of healthcare interventions; systematic reviews; clinical guidelines; clinical trials

RESEARCH PROFILE: Anne-Marie Glenny 

 

Keith Horner

Professor of Maxillofacial Imaging

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

keith.horner@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: New dental imaging technologies, particularly dental Cone Beam Computed Tomography (CBCT); interface between dentistry and osteoporosis

RESEARCH PROFILE:
Keith Horner 

 

 

Yin-Ling Lin

Lecturer

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

yin-ling.lin@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Evidence based medicine; boundary between science and non-science and postnormal science (PNS), expertise and science public engagement; eating disorders and technology; wilful ignorance

RESEARCH PROFILE: Yin-Ling Lin

 

 

Kevin O'Brien

Professor

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

kevin.o'brien@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Clincial trials in orthodontics; feasibility studies; systematic reviews

RESEARCH PROFILE:
Kevin O'Brien

Lucy O'Malley

Lecturer in Oral Health Research

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

lucy.omalley@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Health behaviour change

RESEARCH PROFILE: Lucy O'Malley

Iain Pretty

Professor of Public Health Dentistry

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

Iain.A.Pretty@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Service redesign and demand management; Caries in younger and older populations and targeted and population based interventions; Fluorosis and water fluoridation

RESEARCH PROFILE: Iain Pretty

Nick Silikas

Reader in Dental Material

Director of Graduate Education

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

Nikolaos.Silikas@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Understand and enhance the performance of dental biomaterials

RESEARCH PROFILE: Nikolaos Silikas 

Ting-Li Su

Lecturer in Oral Health Statistics

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

ting-li.su@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Spatial epidemiology, statistical methodology

RESEARCH PROFILE: Ting-Li Su 

Martin Tickle

Professor of Dental Public Health

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

Martin.Tickle@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Caries prevention; inequalities in disease and service use; incentives to change professional behaviour; quality and patient safety; health policy

RESEARCH PROFILE: Martin Tickle 

Tanya Walsh

Reader in Biostatistics

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

tanya.walsh@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Systematic reviews and clincial trials relating to oral health; biostatistics

RESEARCH PROFILE: Tanya Walsh

Chris Ward

Reader in Stem Biology

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

Christopher.Ward@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Embryonic stem cell and induced pluripotent stem (iPS) cell pluripotency and differentiation

RESEARCH PROFILE: Chris Ward

 

David Watts

Professor of Biomaterials Science

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

david.watts@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Adhesive Biomaterials & Biomechanics

RESEARCH PROFILE: David Watts 

 

Helen Worthington

Professor of Evidence Based Care

Joint Co-ordinating Editor of Cochrane Oral Health

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

helen.worthington@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Systematic reviews and clincial trials relating to oral health; biostatistics

RESEARCH PROFILE: Helen Worthington 

Julian Yates

Professor of Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery and Implantology

University of Manchester, Division of Dentistry

julian.yates@manchester.ac.uk

RESEARCH INTERESTS: Aetiology of neuropathic pain and methods of enhancing axonal regeneration within the trigeminal system; provision of hard and soft tissue prostheses for patients with facial deformity; effect of a potential non-sedative anxiolytic drug

RESEARCH PROFILE: Julian Yates